Digital Masterworks Series

2020-2021 Season

Bach to the Future: Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 3

Event Details

Originally Aired on: Saturday, April 17, 2021 | 5:30 pm
Livestream Premiere on YouTube

Event Artists

Rei Hotoda,

Event Composers

Giovanni Gabrieli
Canzona per Sonare No. 2
Kevin Day
Heitor Villa-Lobos
Bachianas Brasileiras No. 9
Jerod Impichchaachaaha' Tate
J. S. Bach
Brandenburg Concerto No. 3

Event Description

The Masterworks Series concludes with a celebration of the influence of Baroque music across five centuries. Gabrieli's music written for St. Mark's Basilica in Venice was an important for the turn from the Renaissance to the Baroque musical style. Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 exemplifies the high Baroque style, while Villa-Lobos' Bachianas Brasilerias No. 9 testifies to the Baroque's lingering inspiration in the modern era. Music by American composers Kevin Day and Jerod Impichchaachaaha' Tate round out this exciting finale to our Digital Masterworks series.

Ways to Watch

When it's time for the video to premiere, simply refresh this page and you can watch it right on our website.

You can watch the Fresno Philharmonic digital premieres anywhere YouTube is available (including a mobile device, a smart TV, Xfinity or Dish, or on the YouTube site itself). Simply subscribe to the Fresno Philharmonic on YouTube and make sure notifications are turned on!

Sponsored By
Zenith Insurance