Daniel R. Martin Masterworks Series

2024-2025 Season

Shostakovich and Rachmaninoff

Event Details

Saturday, February 15, 2025 | 7:30 pm
Sunday, February 16, 2025 | 3:00 pm
Paul Shaghoian Concert Hall

Event Artists

Rei Hotoda,
Barry Douglas,

Event Composers

Hitomi Oba & Erika Oba
New Work (World Premiere)
Piano Concerto No. 2
Symphony No. 9

Event Description

The Fresno Philharmonic presents the world premiere of a new work by California composers Hitomi Oba and Erika Oba inspired by the life and writings of Fresno author and organic peach farmer David “Mas” Masumoto. This performance is the culmination of a two-year project called Cultural Crossroads: Kisetsu (“Seasons” in Japanese). Pianist Barry Douglas returns to the Fresno Philharmonic for Rachmaninoff’s beloved Piano Concerto No. 2.  The concert concludes with Shostakovich’s light-hearted Symphony No. 9.

Subscriptions on sale now. Single tickets go on sale August 1.

Media Partners